Skip to content

Preliminary Option – Fitness Choices

July 22, 2010

We are finally into the home stretch – options in the preliminary course!!

Fitness Choices is a lightweight option and as such allows a suitable amount of practical to be done. I have already indicated we will arrange an excursion to a gym to participate in a number of classes. Having a look at the syllabus outline are there any practical activities you would like to try???? (of course dependant on cost, availability etc). As well as considering this please write a response to the following statement by Sunday 25th July

Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Alec bodyboarding permalink
    July 22, 2010 10:54 am

    Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness.

    hey ms

    Personally, exercise and fitness are two of my main priorities in life. Being fit and healthy allow me to be at my highest level of performance at my footy club and without this I wouldnt hold the high position i have in the squad at the moment. Exercising regularly, I find clears my mind and allows me to wake up properly in the morning as well as helping me concentrate on the best subject of all pdhpe. Drumming is one of my major hobby/priority and being fit actually helps the physical side of my drumming as i dont get tired and i can shred for longer. I believe my general well being as a person is alot better when I am at my physical peak and doing regular exercise.

    that good?

    • July 24, 2010 10:56 pm

      Good response Alec but a reminder to answer as a practice exam question. In doing that, a definition of both exercise and fitness should be outlined. How often do you exercise? Is it a combination of structured and unstructured physical activity?(drumming as a form of exercise?) You have discussed the benefits of exercise and alluded to your role in your football club- is this because of your fitness? work ethic? skills? leadership? combination of some of these?

  2. Bri permalink
    July 25, 2010 12:59 pm

    Exercise and fitness are very important aspects of my life. As exercise involves repetative body movement, and can be classified as structured and non-structured, the types of exercise i do in a week can be classified into two parts.
    My planned sport involves soccer and jiu jitsu, and is meant to be fun, as well as improve my fitness and keep me healthy. Unplanned activities involve such things as carrying groceries, walking to and from school, as well as simple things like walking, or standing around in hospitality.
    Because of the exercise i do in my life, and the fitness that comes as a result, it becomes easier to do such things as walk up stairs, or even run a lap.

    • July 28, 2010 9:10 pm

      Good start (spelling on repetitive) and logicall constructed. Is unplanned activity a deliberate choice to increase activity or an example of incidental exercise?? I wouls also liked to have seen an expansion of the benefits of being active but you have addressed the qquestion well Bri.

  3. taylahhh permalink
    July 25, 2010 1:04 pm

    although being physically active, keeping fit and healthy is only one aspect in being considered healthy as a whole, i highly value it and make it a priority in my everyday life. This i know is different to every individual and the cause being their perception and how they see the importance of being in shape and regularly exercising. to me being fit may not mean being the fastest runner or able to run the longest but being able to play sports on weekend or during school and enjoy, not having breathing difficulties and able to play the best you can. staying fit i like to do because it helps me improve my game in the sports i play, working hard in getting fitter and to be at a good standard i enjoy doing and think is important. not only do i find it important for sports and necessary as overall helps improve but is a good way to clear the head and therefore helping me in another aspect of health.. i like the balance of prepared planned exercise and the unstructured physical activity i do for example, a soccer training session and then a run or walk with the dog, mixing it up..

    something like that?

    • July 28, 2010 9:20 pm

      Paragraphs, capital letters and punctuation would indicate a better constructed piece of writing Taylah. Also watch your sentence construction by placing full stops between different ideas.
      ” To me being fit may not mean being the fastest runner or able to run the longest but being able to play sports on weekends or during school. I enjoy not having breathing difficulties and being able to play the best you can. Staying fit enables me to improve my game in the sports I play. Working hard to be fit and to perform at a good standard is enjoyable and important. This is not only important for sports but is a good way to clear the head and assists me in other aspect of health.”
      You have given excellent examples of your value of exercise and fitness with examples but just need to work on your written expression Taylah.

  4. Cameron Rowland permalink
    July 26, 2010 6:59 am

    Alec, personally that comment was a bit bias saying you play at a high level JKS LOL ROFL. Exercise can be defined as or perceived as the activity of exerting your muscles in various ways to keep fit (Courtesy of http://www.google.com.au/search?)In contrast fitness can be defined as through our analysis and examination from this topic the set of attributes that are either health related or skill related components.
    the importance of fitness in our lives is absolutely essential for the potential future of our lives and the aspirations we would like to pursue, whether a career in fitness or sport or enhancing our sporting careers i.e from association level to a state representative level.As you may already be well aware fitness and certain aspects of it are crucial for me meaintaining my strenous sporting regime week to week which includes a number of hockey games at a very high level as well as maintaining my already technical and beautiful golf swing. however especially this year, i have been signifcantly lazy and guilty of not training physically as much as i would like to say i can which at times has affected my performance on and my appearance off the field. Therefore this illustrates from my example the importance of sustaining (there i said it julia gillard) a healthy body weight and fitness regime which stabilises your body weight. throughout a week i train consitently at least 2 or 3 days a week for hockey (tuesday, wednesday and Thursday), play saturday morning saturday arvo/night for mens 2nd grade. While on Sunday I play 1st grade mens at macarthur. I value personally my exercise and fitness (whats left of it) profoundly as it is the only way i can play at the “professional level i play at aspire to continue playing at. Fitness and exercise both have benefits long term and short term. It is proven by studies that it improves your lifestyle, keeps you happier, healthier and more energetic and arguably lengthens your life and your enjoyment as well. Whats important to note is our perception of health like Bri said differs from individual to individual and depending on certain factors such as age, gender, employment, Cultural background and lifestyle (family) Vote rowland 11

  5. tom permalink
    July 26, 2010 7:02 am

    Exercise and fitness plays a key role in my life as it keeps me healthy and it is important that I have it. Exercise and fitness is very important to me as I am very active. I play sports such as cricket in the summer and rugby and soccer during the winter. These sports invole trainings throughout the week and games on the weekend, so it allows me to get plenty of exercise. All of these sports keep me not only fit, but allows me to have a healthy lifestyle.

    I place a high value on exercise and fitness because it is essential for teenagers growing up as it could determine their habits for when they get older. For example doing regular exercise and keeping fit means that it will give you good habits for when you are older to keep on exercising. We also need to be fit and healthy in order to do normal everyday things. I think that exercise and fitness should be valued as it allows you to feel good about yourself, be healthy, fit and also contributes to all aspects of health.

  6. angus permalink
    July 26, 2010 7:02 am

    Exercise and fitness are both related because to keep fit you must exercise, each of these are crucial elements of a healthy and active lifestyle.
    Exercise plays a huge part of my day to day routine which i enjoy thoroughly and fitness is essential for me to keep up with my team mates in basketball. Exersice not only keeps me fit but rewards me in certain situations like study and working. Exercise and fitness are high values for me and play big roles in my life.

  7. David Wroody permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:06 am

    First i am gonna answer ur question miss-Having a look at the syllabus outline are there any practical activities you would like to try???? (of course dependant on cost, availability etc).

    how bout going to some sydney kings games sweet dude, now my answer.

    Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness.

    I think exercise and fitness are probably for me the most important things in life. Being fit and healthy allow me to play rep basketball and to be considered to be a real athlete by sport doctors and institute of sport employees also manly waringah basketball association people. Exercising regularly for me helps clear my mind so if im angry or depressed going for runs while listening to music clears my mind, it also allows me to sleep a lot better because it makes me more tired. I believe my general well being as a person is alot better when i am being physically active and doing exercise reguarly.

    Thanks

  8. Vinessa permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:23 am

    Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness:

    Exercise varies from one person to another. To many people, their perceptions of exercise come across as unpleasant and vigorous as they participate in strengurous exercise, involving weights and lots of sprinting drills which lead to sweating. To some exercise may be playing lawn bowls with social group, or just simply walking instead of driving. Exercise can come in three different categories; Light, moderate or vigorous exercise.
    Fitness on the other hand is the ability to successfully meet the demands of one’s lifestyle. To improve in one’s sporting abilities and physical physique.
    In all I think physically activity, exercise and fitness is very important, that impact on everyone’s lives, as well as mine. Making sure you are physically active during the week is very important. If it’s participating in my weekly basketball game, my kick boxing class, or simply just walking to school; I am still under going some sort of exercise. Doing regular exercise may increase your fitness levels.
    I often exercise 3-4 days a week where it may be basketball and kick boxing, but also things such as work (cleaning) may be classified as exercise as you are continually on the move. Walking the dog and walking to school are just like little extras. This being unstructured physical acitivty.

  9. Josie permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:31 am

    Fitness and exercise are closely related to each other and are very important aspects of my everday life. Fitness is described as any activity involving significant movement of the body. I value my fitness very highly and it’s something that I use daily, whether it be going for a jog around the block or going to a vigorous hockey training session.

    Exercise is defined as a physical activity that involves planned, structured and repetitive body movement. I believe this to be not only vigorous training eg. running, but other activities that improve your health. These include activities such as yoga, core strength exercises and stretching.
    I also value these types of activities highly and include them in my daily exercises. I believe exercise to be related to health in all different ways, for example, after exercising you may feel mentally, emotionally and physically refreshed.

    I also believe that the value you place on your own health can be affected by other things. For example, playing in a team sport, especially at a national level, helps to value your fitness highly. When coaches and other players place their own fitness highly, it impacts your own perception. Fitness then changes from an individual goal, to a team goal. For example, if one person in the team is not fit enough and can’t perform at their best, it affects the whole team. This proves that the perception of your own fitness is affected by your peers.

    I don’t know if I needed to add all of that, but I did anyway.

  10. Mitch permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:52 am

    OMG i lost it and im doing it again,
    Hola,
    Exercise and fitness are the top priorities in my life. I value being physically active and i achieve this by, going to the gym 2-3 times a week, playing BALL every single day and riding my bike on weekends. As exercise is defned as “Physical exercise is any bodily activity that enhances or maintains physical fitness and overall health.” I value exercise becasue i want to increase my fitness so i can play at a higher basketball performance for longer at a higher intensity. I alos value exercise becasue i want to increase my strength by doing gym exercises such as working on my legs and upper body to increase a higher vertical jump to allow myself to develop a more explosive and athletic basketball game. By increasing my fitness and strenth i am capable of becoming the best basketball player i can be. This is why i value exercise and fitness.
    Im i even on the right track???

  11. Torie permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:14 am

    Exercise and fitness are very important as a young person growing up in todays society and everything seems to pose a threat to young peoples lives. So i believe exercise and fitness is very important. Exercise gives your body the movement that it needs daily, this is how you keep the organs , bones and tissue in your body healthy. Fitness is a relation to exercise, by doing exercise you build your levels of fitness and being fit is good for your health.
    As a full time school student, it is hard to find the time to study, go to school and exercise, but when i do exercise i enjoy to do so in the mornings as it gives you the energy to wake up and enjoy the rest of your day. i make and effort to exercise at least 3-4 times a week. my work outs are usually structured, i start off with cardio usually on a bike or a jog for 30 to 40 minutes after this i continue on to do weights using 5 kilo dumb bells i do a mixture of arms and legs each day i try to change it up so i don’t lose interest in doing exercise.

  12. sam parsons permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:23 am

    Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness.

    I think that exercise and fitness in todays society are not made as much as a priority as they should be. today kids and adults are to distracted by technolgical things such as videos games or tv and will happily sit inside all day forgetting about exercise or fitness. it should be a thing that everyone does as it not only helps the fitness and health of the individual but benefits the community to. the benefits for the individual are obvious but to the community having healthy people running around may encourage others to run around to rather than fat people walking around letting other fat people feel comortable with there health. it is an important part of life especially for youth. as your body is growing it needs to be healthy to help you do day to day stuff in the most effective way your body can. this also is the same with elderly people.

    • July 28, 2010 9:05 pm

      Paragraphs, capital letters and some punctuation would have made this much easier to read Sam. While you have offered an opinion about the benefits of exercise and fitness you have not reallly answered the question- describe the value YOU place on exercise and fitness !! As this is formal writing consider how you could better express the last sentence you have written.

  13. Nick permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:38 am

    fitness and exercise are a big role in my life.Fitness is described as any activity involving significant movement of the body.Basketballl is the sport i play.

    • July 28, 2010 8:57 pm

      Nick you need to show how “big a role” fitness and exercise are by developing your written response to include how often you are involved, the benefits you feel it gives you etc. A definition for exercise and some further information about the relationship between the both could have been included.

  14. July 26, 2010 12:32 pm

    Describe the value you place on exercise and fitness.

    Hey G (Miss)
    For me personally fitness and exercise plays a big roll in my life, i do it everyday because i enjoy it and enjoy being fit. As Josie said Fitness is described as any activity involving significant movement of the body. wether it be KB training, soccer training or just going for a jog i still try and involve exercise into my everyday life, so that i can be healthy happy and FIT. without regular exercise and my fitness, i wouldn’t be able to preform in the level of kickboxing that i do now. ( or did last year)

    hows this miss :/ i dont know how i went ( probably not good)

    • July 28, 2010 8:54 pm

      Dallas , I would encourage you to spell check your answer prior to post and a reminder to use formal writing style eg capital letters to start sentences, I rather than i. It would appear that you incorporate significant amounts of exercise in your daily life and some indication of how often would have made that clearer. Maybe also further comment on both formal and informal activity and which contributes more to “fitness”.

  15. Kelvin permalink
    July 28, 2010 11:58 am

    Exercise and fitness are very important in my life however i feel that these days i am not doing as much as i used to because of all the technologies of things such as computer games.
    Exercise is any continuous movement of the body that improves health and physical fitness, Fitness is basically the efficiency of your body. So by doing exercise you maintain your physical fitness which is an advantage to have when playing sports.
    I do value my fitness but i am not doing much exercise these days which will decrease my overall fitness in the future. I enjoy exercising and going around for a run but I do not plan my exercise daily and often i am too lazy.

    • July 28, 2010 8:47 pm

      Good use of definitions in your answer. Consider that due to conflicting interests that in fact you do not value the importance of exercise and fitness at the present time. A sound point made about the link between exercise and fitness.

  16. July 29, 2010 7:48 am

    Exercise and fitness are both related because to keep fit you must exercise, each of these are crucial elements of a healthy and active lifestyle.
    Exercise plays a huge part of my day to day routine which i enjoy thoroughly and fitness is essential for me to work consistently in sports such as soccer. Exercise not only keeps me fit but rewards me in certain situations like study and working as it provides me with the essential energy i require as a 16 yr old. Exercise and fitness are high values for me and have a significant role in my life.

Leave a comment